Inside Sabertooth
Learn how Sabertooth uses 3ds Max to create 3D interactive projects, including HBO Go’s Game of Thrones interactive experience
  • 1/3
You are here: Forum Home / Autodesk® Maya® / Autodesk Maya 2012 / Maya 2012 for $499 - Is this company legitimate?
  RSS 2.0 ATOM  

Maya 2012 for $499 - Is this company legitimate?
Rate this thread
 
64212
 
Permlink of this thread  
avatar
  • stumanchu
  • Posted: 06 February 2012 09:44 AM
  • Total Posts: 7
  • Joined: 30 November 2011 08:02 PM

I am looking to upgrade from the student version of Maya to the commercial version and I ran across this website that offers Maya 2012 for $499. The company claims that they are selling OEM software and the whole process is a direct download from their “archive” and that they give valid serials etc.  This is a link to their site:

http://www.discountautodesk.com/

My question is, are they legitimate and are they somehow related to Autodesk and are they really an authorized re-seller, or do they have some sort of marginal scam going?  I mean, there’s a $4,500 dollar difference between their offer and the official retail price of Maya 2012.

I was just wondering if anyone at Autodesk could provide some clarity on what this is all about?

Thanks for any input or answers.

Sincerely,

Stuart Christensen



Replies: 0
avatar

Hi There
Just use the net :-)

http://rosspruden.blogspot.com/2009/03/piracy-is-hydra.html

i`m wondering if autodesk is doing something against it :-)

greetings Thorsten

Who is entry:

Administrative Contact:
Name: Private Protection Co.LTD. Zhuhai Branch
Organization: Private Protection Co.LTD.
Address: NO.1 Meihua Road
City: Zhuhai
Province/state: GD
Country: CN
Postal Code: 519000
Email:

Dispute Contact:
Name: Todaynic.com,Inc.
Organization: Todaynic.com,Inc.
Address: 6B XIHAI Building, No.221 Renmin E Road, Xiangzhou District,
City: Zhuhai
Province/state: GD
Country: CN
Postal Code: 519000
Phone: +86.756-2281763



Replies: 0
avatar
  • n8skow
  • Posted: 07 February 2012 10:01 AM

There is no such thing as “OEM” software from Autodesk…
That site is most likely distributing illegal digital downloads.



n8skow [FA]

Replies: 0
avatar
  • duttyfoot
  • Posted: 07 February 2012 11:59 AM

that site is selling the software illegally. AD does not sell oem versions of there software so if you want to go from student to commercial you should contact a local reseller in your area.



Replies: 0
avatar
  • stumanchu
  • Posted: 15 February 2012 10:09 AM

Thanks for your responses everyone.  I didn’t think to check to see where they were operating from and I’m not surprised they are in China. It just seemed like a really strange thing to run into while looking for the best upgrade route.  The new teasers coming out for Maya show some really cool new stuff like nHair and Viewport tweaks that may help me wait for the 2013 version or whatever they may call it.  Thanks again!

Stu



Replies: 0